The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Applesauce

2 Comments

DSC01733

We went apple picking this weekend, and already had a tote bag of apples from the supermarket at home.  So to use up the supermarket apples, I decided to make applesauce.  I know it’s pretty simple, but it was my first time doing it, and now I want to try to make compotes with other fruits.
For the applesauce, I peeled and sliced about 10 apples, and put them in a pot with 1/4 cup water, 1/2 cup low sugar apple juice, 1/4 cup coconut sugar.  I sprinkled cinnamon all over the top of the apples.  I covered the pot and let it boil for about 20 minutes on medium heat.  Once the apples cooled down, I mashed them with a potato masher.

We ended up eating the first serving on a toaster waffle, it was delicious!

DSC01734

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

2 thoughts on “Applesauce

  1. We just love homemade applesauce. Especially this time of year.

  2. Like the idea of topping off the waffle with the applesauce, xoxo

Leave a Reply

