The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

4 Comments

DSC01703
My father recently emailed me a cookie recipe: http://cmbm.org/2014/07/avengers-cookies-snack-superheroes/
I thought the recipe looked good, and maybe one day I’ll make the cookies using the proper ingredients and following the baking instructions. But as I often do, I made some substitutions so I wouldn’t have to go shopping for ingredients, and also took some shortcuts in the baking steps.  Despite veering from the recipe, I was happy with the final product!

Ingredients:
1/2 cup coconut oil
3/4 cup liquid egg whites
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 ¼ cups oats
1 teaspoon corn starch
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tablespoon flax meal
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the coconut oil, egg whites, sugar, and vanilla extract.  Add in the oats, corn starch, chia seeds, flax meal, baking soda, and sea salt. Stir to combine the ingredients well. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and use a tablespoon to help scoop out the dough (it will be quite runny, but still possible to shape on the baking sheet). Bake for 15 minutes.

DSC01705

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I could use one of those now!

  2. These really sound fantastic! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

