The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Easy open-faced sandwich

2 Comments

DSC01638

This sandwich was inspired by a Mexican Torta I really like at a restaurant near where I used to live.

It didn’t come out like the original, since I didn’t have the exact ingredients, but it was still very good.

I sautéed diced yellow zucchini, squash, and onion in Trader Joe’s Enchilada sauce, and sprinkled in some salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes.

I spread a mixture of low-fat mayonnaise and hot sauce on sliced ciabatta bread, and heated that in the toaster oven with some Spanish cheese (from a Trader Joe’s Spanish cheese sampler).   I took the bread out of the oven and piled on the sautéed vegetables, and topped with fresh chopped cilantro.

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

2 thoughts on “Easy open-faced sandwich

  1. Your posts inspire me!

  2. Very simple,healthy and delicious recipe

Leave a Reply

