The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Vegan Banana Pecan Oat Muffins

5 Comments

DSC01395This is the first time I made muffins.  I didn’t even own a muffin tray until a week ago.  I’ve never thought of myself as a baker, and the only things I’ve baked (not counting cookies from a mix when I was much younger) are the oatmeal bakes, cookies, and brownies on this blog.  So I’m slowly trying out more things, and my first attempt at muffins was successful.  This muffin recipe is adapted from a recipe on the “Everybody Likes Sandwiches” blog (http://everybodylikessandwiches.com/2013/02/love-muffins-vegan-banana-pecan-oat-muffins/)  The muffins have a good banana taste and the pecans add a nice crunch.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup oats
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
salt (original recipe calls for 1/4 tsp kosher salt; all I have in the house is a sea salt grinder, so I ground it 12 times over the dry ingredients)
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup brown sugar (not packed)
1/4 cup mild-flavored oil (I used grape seed)
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (original recipe calls for 1/2 cup of oil and no applesauce, so I thought I’d try doing 1/4 cup of each to cut down on the oil)
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1/4 cup pecans, roughly chopped

Grease or line a 12-cup muffin tray (batter will fill 12 cups).  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a bowl, stir together the flours, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.

In another bowl, mix the sugar, oil, and applesauce together.  Stir in the mashed bananas.  Then slowly pour in the flour/oat mixture, along with the pecans, and mix batter together.

DSC01391

Spoon the batter into muffin cups, and bake for 15 to 20 minutes.

DSC01393

DSC01397

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

5 thoughts on “Vegan Banana Pecan Oat Muffins

  1. I am going to try those. They look like perfect muffins!

  2. Yum! These sound amazing! As do all your recipes, which is why you’ve received an award on my blog! Congrats!! Check it out here: http://foodgurly.com/2014/03/22/le-sunshine-blogger-award-times-two/

Leave a Reply

