The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Healthy Broccoli Swiss Melt

3 Comments

DSC01381

I recently went out to lunch and ordered a Reuben without the meat, thinking it would be like a grilled cheese with sauerkraut.  The waiter said he had a couple regular customers who were vegetarians, and liked having broccoli added to the sandwich.  I thought that sounded good, so I had the sandwich made that way, and really enjoyed it.  I don’t know why I’ve never thought of broccoli as a sandwich filler before.  I went to make my own version of the sandwich, but couldn’t find sauerkraut at the supermarket, so bought sliced pepperoncini instead.  I liked the spiciness they added.

To make the sandwich, heat up some chopped broccoli and sliced pepperoncini in a pan with a little spray oil.  Spread a mixture of ketchup and low fat mayonnaise on one side of the bread, and put a slice of low fat swiss cheese on the other.  Add the heated vegetables on top of the cheese.  Top that off with another 1/2 slice (or full slice) of cheese, close the sandwich, and heat it up in the pan like a grilled cheese.  So I did end up eating something green for St. Patrick’s Day.

DSC01388

 

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

3 thoughts on “Healthy Broccoli Swiss Melt

  1. That’s a great sandwich idea!

  2. But for the mayo, that sounds like a yummy melt!

  3. looks so tasty – thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

