The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Moroccan Tofu with Israeli Couscous

3 Comments

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This recipe is adapted from a recipe for Moroccan Stewed Chicken from Men’s Health (http://recipes.menshealth.com/Recipe/moroccan-stewed-chicken.aspx)
I changed the chicken to tofu, and served on top of Israeli couscous and some romaine lettuce.

Ingredients:
1 package extra firm tofu, dried and cut into cubes
1 large zucchini, diced
1 can garbanzo beans
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes
chopped fresh cilantro for garnish
1 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper or paprika
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Israeli couscous
Raisins or dried cranberries
Almonds, chopped
Romaine lettuce, optional

Heat the tofu with the olive oil in a large pan and sprinkle on salt and pepper. Stir occasionally and cook until tofu slightly browns, then add in the zucchini, and cook until that lightly browns. Add in diced tomatoes, chickpeas, cayenne, cumin and cinnamon. Turn the heat down and simmer for about 15 minutes.

For the Israeli couscous, cook according to package instructions. I sometimes mix a little orange juice in with the water and like the taste that the orange juice adds. Once couscous is cooked & fluffed, add in raisins or dried cranberries (I like raisins but have dried cranberries in my pantry more often) and almonds. Serve the tofu on top of the couscous, and you can put it all on top of a bed of lettuce if you’d like. Garnish with chopped cilantro, and add more salt and pepper to taste if needed.

Here are pictures of some other ways I’ve cooked up Israeli and regular couscous (it was my go to grain before I started branching out a little more):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

3 thoughts on “Moroccan Tofu with Israeli Couscous

  1. I just posted a recipe for a moroccan spiced quinoa salad and I just love the flavors of the spice blend!

  2. Being a vegetarian, I LOVE tofu. This looks like such a delicious and creative way to use tofu! Couscous is always a win. I’ve never made Israeli couscous, but I definitely want to try. Great recipe!

  3. Pingback: I Cooked: Moroccan Tofu with Israeli Couscous - Basically I'm Complicated

Leave a Reply

