The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Raw Chocolate (and chocolate ginger) Macaroons

Leave a comment

W Macaroons

Raw Chocolate (and chocolate ginger) Macaroons:

The next raw dessert I tried making after the brownies were chocolate macaroons.  I certainly enjoy non-raw, non-vegan desserts, but wanted to make these since I don’t see anything like them in stores, and I like the ease of raw desserts (and no messy eggs to clean up).  This recipe is adapted from Tessa the Domestic Diva (http://www.tessadomesticdiva.com/2012/01/raw-chocolate-macaroons-hail-merry.html).

After making the chocolate ones, I tried them with ginger the next time and they were delicious, if you like a strong ginger taste.  I can’t wait to try more variations- adding in orange zest, peppermint extract- there are a lot of possibilities!  I brought a batch to Thanksgiving, and while they’re not the typical Thanksgiving dessert, everyone in the family really liked them!

Ingredients:

2 cups shredded coconut (most recipes I’ve seen call for unsweetened coconut, but they only sell sweetened at the markets closest to me and that’s what I had- so I cut down on the honey/maple syrup)

¼ a cup of nuts (I’ve made them with almonds and cashews.   I didn’t see nuts in the recipe linked to above, but I like the extra crunch the nuts give)

1 tablespoon of honey or maple syrup (more if using unsweetened coconut)

4-5 tablespoons of raw cacao powder (substitute unsweetened cocoa powder)

¼ cup coconut oil

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Sea salt

(and for the ginger variety- 2 tablespoons grated ginger and a tablespoon of lemon juice)

(makes about a dozen macaroons)

Grind the nuts in a food processer, then add in the rest of the ingredients and continue to process until well mixed, scraping down the sides as needed (the mixture will be thick).  Roll the mixture into small balls and place them on a parchment lined plate.   Let them chill in the fridge or freezer for a couple hours to allow them set before eating.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge or freezer (I’ve been storing them in the fridge).

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

Leave a Reply

