The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Cauliflower Breadsticks/Pizza

3 Comments

W Cauli pizza

I saw someone reference a recipe for cauliflower breadsticks, and I decided to make them recently.  I have nothing against bread, but thought these looked like a healthy alternative to try.  The recipe I used was adapted from Just a Pinch recipes (http://www.justapinch.com/recipes/appetizer/vegetable-appetizer/cauliflower-breadsticks.html)

Ingredients:

1 large head of cauliflower

2 eggs

Salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, garlic & onion powder

4-6 ounces shredded low fat mozzarella cheese

(4 servings)

Chop the cauliflower into pieces and microwave it for about 5 minutes, or until soft.  Put the cauliflower into a food processer and chop it until it’s a mashed potato-like texture (I had to do this in about 4 batches with my Mini Prep).  In a large bowl, stir together the cauliflower, eggs, cheese, and seasonings (I think this would probably work with only 1 egg instead of 2).  I put about ½ the package of an 8 ounce cheese package in.  The original recipe called for garlic cloves, but I was out so used garlic powder.

Heat oven to 450 degrees.   Line a baking tray with parchment paper and lightly spray with cooking oil.  Place the cauliflower mixture onto the tray and shape into a rectangle.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the top and edges start to brown.  Let it sit for 10 minutes, then add about ½ of the remaining shredded cheese on top (as well as some grated cheese if you’d like), and a little more Italian seasoning.  Bake for another 10 minutes at 400 degrees.

Cut into “breadsticks,” and serve with warm tomato sauce of your choice.  The reason I called this recipe “breadsticks/pizza” is that when my husband and I had leftovers, we heated the remaining cauliflower pieces in the oven with the sauce right on top of them, and added goat cheese and sliced tomato- this made me think that I would shape the cauliflower into a pizza pie the next time.

20131205_183306

The cauliflower “dough” right out of the oven:

W cauli pizza pre-cheese

 

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

3 thoughts on “Cauliflower Breadsticks/Pizza

  1. This looks outrageous. What a great idea for cauliflower, I am definitely trying this recipe.

  2. Thanks for the kind feedback, it means a lot coming from someone whose cooking looks so good 🙂

Leave a Reply

