The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Asian Baked Tofu

1 Comment

DSC01149

Ingredients:

2 packages extra firm tofu

Bok choy

Cashews

1 can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained

Toasted sesame oil

Rice vinegar

Soy sauce

Salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, grated ginger

Grape seed oil

Russet potato (optional as side dish)

(makes 4 portions)

For this baked tofu dish, I first dried the tofu (see instructions in the “Southwest Tofu Scramble” recipe), then marinated it in a large baking dish.  I had been looking up Asian tofu recipes, and noticed sesame oil and rice vinegar frequently mention in them, so went out to buy some.  I cut each cube of tofu into large slices (6-8), then added 4 tablespoons of the sesame oil, the rice vinegar (it wasn’t easy to measure precisely because of how it came out of the bottle), and about 8 tablespoons of soy sauce.  I sprinkled on some salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and cayenne pepper.  I covered the dish and left it the fridge overnight to marinate.  In the morning, I flipped the pieces of tofu over and added some more of the sauces and spices.  Later that day when it was time to cook the tofu, I put the pieces on a parchment lined baking tray (lightly sprayed with cooking spray) and baked them at 375 degrees for 40 minutes, flipping the tofu half way through.  When it was done, it came out nice and crispy on the outside, and silky on the inside.  While the tofu was baking, I heated a tablespoon of grape seed oil in a large pan and added a can of chickpeas.  After the beans cooked for a while, I added in chopped bok choy and cashews, as well as the same sauces and spices that I used to marinate the tofu, and about a tablespoon of grated ginger.  I cooked until the bok choy was wilted.  We had eaten enough grains that week, so decided to have a baked potato to go with the dish.

Baked tofu

 W Baked tofu sfry

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

One thought on “Asian Baked Tofu

  1. That looks great xoxo

    Sent from my IPad

    >

Leave a Reply

