The Seated Cook

Simple, healthy, vegetarian food

Southwest Tofu Scramble

1 Comment

SW TOfu scramble

(makes 4 large servings- didn’t need a side dish with this)

Tofu is one of my favorite foods (yes, it is).  I love how versatile tofu is, and how great it can taste when done well.   I’ve made several tofu stir fries over the years, so am not sure why it took me so long to finally make a tofu scramble.  This was the second one that I made- the first had black beans, feta cheese, and spinach in it.  Tofu makes a great, protein-packed base, to which you can add whatever you want!

Ingredients:

2 packages of firm tofu

Vegetable oil

1 red pepper

1 green pepper

1 zucchini

1 can of pinto beans,  rinsed and drained

Turmeric

Salt & Pepper

Cheddar cheese

Cilantro

Salsa and/or hot sauce

First, dry the tofu.  I don’t have a tofu press (it’s on my want list), so I cut each cube of tofu into about 4 pieces and place them between paper towel lined plates.  I put something on top of the plate, like a filled tea kettle, to add weight.  I wait at least half an hour, since draining the tofu will help it absorb more flavors.  Once dried, mash the tofu with a fork until it breaks apart into crumbles.  Heat a couple tablespoons of oil in a large pan.  Add the tofu and sprinkle some turmeric on it- the turmeric will turn the tofu a light yellow color as it heats up.  Add some salt and pepper and cook until the tofu begins to brown a little.  Add in the beans and continue to stir the mixture periodically, then add the chopped vegetables and cook through.   When done, add some cheese on top- this would be great with shredded cheese, but since I didn’t have any, just broke up a slice of sharp cheddar.  Garnish with chopped cilantro, and put some salsa and/or hot sauce over the scramble (that didn’t make it into the picture).

Author: theseatedcook

I enjoy cooking simple, healthy, vegetarian meals.

One thought on “Southwest Tofu Scramble

  1. I never knew you could cook such an imaginative dish with tofu. I can’t wait to try this recipe. My tofu dishes always come out do bland.

Leave a Reply

